Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms
Close

Sign up for our mailing list

News

Andy Shauf Releases New Song "Try Again"
Wednesday, November 13th, 2019

Andy Shauf Releases New Song "Try Again"

Andy Shauf releases a new single/video, “Try Again,” from The Neon Skyline, his new album due January 24th via ANTI-.

The Neon Skyline’s interconnected songs are all written, performed, arranged and produced by Shauf, and follow a simple plot: the narrator goes to his neighborhood dive, finds out his ex is back in town, and she eventually shows up.

Following the “lush, jazzy retro pop-rocker” (Stereogum) “Things I Do,”“Try Again,” continues to present Shauf’s distinct style of storytelling as he describes an awkwardly funny and charming reunion between the song’s narrator and his ex:

“Somewhere between drunkenness and chivalry, I hold the door open and let her pass through. She says thanks to me in a British accent and I try to answer her in the same voice. She laughs at me, says ‘What was that supposed to be?’ I say ‘I’m sorry, I’m from a different part of the country.’ She says ‘Come on baby, try again.’

Somewhere between drunkenness and sincerity, I smile at her for just a little too long. Charlie’s drinking wine, Judy's laughing at him, she says ‘I forget that you’re such a fancy guy.’ He tips his hat, says ‘M’lady, do you come here often?’ I swear I’ve seen them do this one a couple times before. Come on baby, try again.

Somewhere between drunkenness and charity, she puts her hand on the sleeve of my coat. She says ‘I’ve missed this.’ I say ‘I know, I’ve missed you too.’ She says, ‘I was actually talking about your coat.’ She makes me laugh, oh how she makes me laugh. I just let my head sink down and fake some deep sobs. Come on baby, try again.

Somewhere between drunkenness and jealousy, I watch her talking to some old friend. What a reunion, he recognized her across the room. How many years could there be to catch up on? And somewhere between drunkenness and honesty, I make a silent toast to the things that I do and don’t miss. Come on baby, try again.”

The “Try Again” video was directed by Gérald Fleury and Timo Hateau of Mizotte & Cabécou and is an entirely hand-made, animated short film. “Rather than illustrating the storyline, we imagined our own offbeat tale like a parallel to the song,” says Mizotte & Cabécou. “Design, motion, colors and atmosphere are influenced by the pop and childish dream world of 70's French animation (Chapi Chapo, The Magic Roundabout).”

The Neon Skyline follows 2016’s The Party, and is Shauf’s most direct and emotionally-rich work yet. His characters are all sympathetic here, people who share countless inside jokes, shots, and life-or-death musings when the night gets hazy. On top of heartbreak, friendship, and the mundane moments of humanity that define his songwriting, Shauf makes music that explores how easy it is to find yourself in familiar patterns and repeat the same mistakes of your past. The songs on The Neon Skyline ultimately take solace in accepting that life goes on and things will be okay.

Andy Shauf will tour North America this upcoming winter. Then, after a European run, he will return stateside this spring. Tickets are on sale now and all dates can be found below.

Watch Andy Shauf’s Video for “Try Again” - https://youtu.be/thiHFeIw_5U

Stream “Things I Do” - https://youtu.be/MF9DjpLsZWM

Pre-order The Neon Skyline - https://andyshauf.ffm.to/theneonskyline

Andy Shauf Tour Dates:

Fri. Feb. 7 - Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups *

Sat. Feb. 8 - Lexington, KY @ The Burl *

Sun. Feb. 9 - Knoxville, TN @ Barley’s Taproom *

Tue. Feb. 11 - Nashville, TN @ Exit/In *

Thu. Feb. 13 - Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall *

Fri. Feb. 14 - Austin, TX @ Mohawk *

Sat. Feb. 15 - Dallas, TX @ Deep Ellum Art Co. *

Tue. Feb. 18 - Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom *

Thu. Feb. 20 - Los Angeles, CA @ Fonda Theater *

Fri. Feb. 21 - San Francisco, CA @ August Hall *

Sat. Feb. 22 - Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s *

Mon. Feb. 24 - Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall *

Tue. Feb. 25 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos *

Wed. Feb. 26 - Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom *

Fri. Feb. 28 - Calgary, AB @ Bella Concert Hall *

Sat. Feb. 29 - Edmonton, AB @ The Starlite Room *

Mon. March 2 - Saskatoon, SK @ Broadway Theatre *

Tue. March 3 - Regina, SK @ The Exchange *

Wed. March 4 - Winnipeg, MB @ Park Theatre *

Thu. March 5 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Hall *

Fri. March 6 - Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo *

Sat. March 7 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *

Fri. March 13 - Lyon, FR @ Epicerie Moderne

Sat. March 14 - Bordeaux, FR @ Krakatoa

Tue. March 17 - Birmingham, UK @ Hare and Hounds

Wed. March 18 - Glasgow, UK @ Mono

Thu. March 19 - Manchester, UK @ Gorilla

Fri. March 20 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club

Sat. March 21 - Bristol, UK @ Fiddlers

Sun. March 22 - Brighton, UK @ Chalk

Wed. March 25 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique Orangerie

Thu. March 26 - Utrecht, NL @ TivoliVredenburg

Fri. March 27 - Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown

Sat. March 28 - Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje

Mon. March 30 - Hamburg, DE @ Elbphilharmonie

Tue. March 31 - Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen

Wed. April 1 - Stockholm, SE @ Nalen Klubb

Thu. April 2 - Oslo, NO @ Ingensteds

Sat. April 4 - Berlin, DE @ Silent Green

Sun. April 5 - Cologne, DE @ Luxor

Mon. April 6 - Rouen, FR @ Le 106

Tue. April 7 - Paris, FR @ Trianon

Wed. April 8 - London, UK @ Shepherds Bush Empire

Fri. April 24 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall ^

Sat. April 25 - Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre ^

Sun. April 26 - Sheffield, MA @ Race Brook Lodge ^

Tue. April 28 - Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club ^

Thu. April 30 - Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw ^

Fri. May 1 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer ^

Sat. May 2 - Washington, DC @ Black Cat ^

Mon. May 4 - Charlottesville, NC @ The Southern ^

Tue. May 5 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle ^

Wed. May 6 - Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle ^

Fri. May 8 - Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West ^

Sat. May 9 - New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks ^

Sun. May 10 - Birmingham, AL @ Saturn ^

Tue. May 12 - Indianapolis, IN @ Hi-Fi ^

Wed. May 13 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Andy Warhol Museum ^

Fri. May 15 - Asbury Park, NJ @ House of Independents ^

Sat. May 16 - Woodstock, NY @ Colony Cafe ^

*= w/ Molly Sarlé

^ = w/ Faye Webster

Browse by Artist

1690All Artists 97Tom Waits 69Mavis Staples 57Neko Case 51Lost In The Trees 50Sean Rowe 48Dr. Dog 44The Milk Carton Kids
41Jolie Holland 40Bettye LaVette 37Man Man 35Tinariwen 33Tim Fite 33DeVotchKa 31Islands 31Grinderman 31Son Little 27Galactic 27Wilco 27Saintseneca 24Michael Franti and Spe... 23Glen Hansard 22Bob Mould 22William Elliott Whitmo... 22Doe Paoro 21Nick Cave & The Bad Se... 21The Frames 20Joe Henry 20Christopher Paul Stell... 19Booker T. Jones 19Sage Francis 18Deafheaven 17John K. Samson 17Yann Tiersen 16Ramblin Jack Elliott 16Jason Lytle 15Andy Shauf 15Xenia Rubinos 15Prism Tats 15Delicate Steve 14Daniel Lanois 13Billy Bragg 13The Drums 12Xavier Rudd 12Peter Silberman 11The Weakerthans 11Lyrics Born 11Rain Machine 11Mose Allison 11Roky Erickson 11The Antlers 11Calexico 11Cass McCombs 10The Swell Season 10The Melodic 10So Much Light 10Jade Jackson 10Ryan Pollie 10The Dream Syndicate 9Marianne Faithfull 9N.A.S.A. 9Cameron Avery 8Solillaquists of Sound 8Greg Graffin 8Cadence Weapon 8The Coup 7Elliott Smith 7Eddie Izzard 7Dead Man's Bones 7Alec Ounsworth 7Beth Orton 7Kelly Hogan 7Title Fight 7Ben Harper and Charlie... 7Richard Reed Parry 6A Girl Called Eddy 6Busdriver 6Os Mutantes 6Kate Bush 6Broken Twin 6Girlpool 6Yves Jarvis 6Rafiq Bhatia 5One Day As A Lion 5The Field 5Keaton Henson 5Beat Connection 5Japandroids 5Foxwarren 5Combo Chimbita 5Jeremy Ivey 4Ersi Arvizu 4Marketa Irglova 4Pops Staples 4Curtis Harding 4Wynonna 4Darrin Bradbury 4Boy Scouts 3Danny Cohen 3Sierra Leones Refugee... 3Petra Haden 3Walter Wolfman Washing... 3Lido Pimienta 3Mothers 3Marc Ribot 3The Good Ones 3Purr 2Various Artists: RANGO 2Jeff Tweedy 2Glitterer 1Tricky 1Joe Strummer And The M... 1Youth Group 1Blackalicious 1Antibalas 1Porter Wagoner 1Various Artists: ROGUE... 1The Locust 1Rogue's Gallery 1Kronos Quartet with Br... 1Simian Mobile Disco 1case/lang/veirs 1Merle Haggard 1Ben Harper 1M. Ward 1Half Waif 1Josiah Johnson 1Christian Lee Hutson
See Full List+