Sign up for our mailing list Real artists creating records on their own terms
Close

Sign up for our mailing list

Press

Wednesday, October 23rd, 2019

Andy Shauf Announces New Album 'The Neon Skyline,' Out January 24

Andy Shauf will release The Neon Skyline, his most direct and emotionally-rich work yet, on January 24th via ANTI-, with a North American and European tour immediately following (all shows on sale on this Friday, October 25th at 10am local time here). The interconnected songs on The Neon Skyline, all written, performed, arranged and produced by Shauf, follow a simple plot: the narrator goes to his neighborhood dive, finds out his ex is back in town, and she eventually shows up. As with Shauf’s last solo album, 2016’s The Party, The Neon Skyline is densely layered with an abundance of charming moments. His characters are all sympathetic here, people who share countless inside jokes, shots, and life-or-death musings when the night gets hazy. Today, he offers the first taste, “Things I Do,” which examines the dissolution of the narrator's past relationship over tense and jazz-minded instrumentation.

For The Neon Skyline, Shauf chose to start each composition on guitar instead of his usual piano. Happy accidents like Shauf testing out a new spring reverb pedal and experimenting with tape machines forced him to simplify how he'd arrange the tracks. Over the course of a year-and-a-half, Shauf ended up with almost 50 songs all about the same night at the bar. Though paring down his massive body of work to a single album's worth of material was a challenge for Shauf, the final tracklist is seamless and fully-formed.

Shauf's attention-to-detail in his writing on The Party evoked Randy Newman and his unorthodox, flowing lyrical phrasing recalled Joni Mitchell. Though that album, which followed different attendees of a house party, was his breakthrough, his undeniable songwriting talent has been long evident. Raised in Bienfait, Saskatchewan, he cut his teeth in the nearby Regina music community. In 2018, his band Foxwarren, formed over a decade ago with childhood friends, released a self-titled album where Pitchfork recognized how "Shauf has diligently refined his storytelling during the last decade.”

On top of heartbreak, friendship, and the mundane moments of humanity that define his songwriting, Shauf makes music that explores how easy it is to find yourself in familiar patterns and repeat the same mistakes of your past. His characters wonder, "Did this relationship end too soon? Would going to another bar cheer my friend up?,” or "How hard is it to give a shit?" The songs on The Neon Skyline ultimately take solace in accepting that life goes on and things will be okay.

Stream Andy Shauf’s “Things I Do” -
https://youtu.be/MF9DjpLsZWM

Pre-order The Neon Skyline -
https://andyshauf.ffm.to/theneonskyline

The Neon Skyline Tracklist:
1. Neon Skyline
2. Where Are You Judy
3. Clove Cigarette
4. Thirteen Hours
5. Things I Do
6. Living Room
7. Dust Kids
8. The Moon
9. Try Again
10. Fire Truck
11. Changer

Andy Shauf Tour Dates:
Fri. Feb. 7 - Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups *
Sat. Feb. 8 - Lexington, KY @ The Burl *
Sun. Feb. 9 - Knoxville, TN @ Barley’s Taproom *
Tue. Feb. 11 - Nashville, TN @ Exit/In *
Thu. Feb. 13 - Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall *
Fri. Feb. 14 - Austin, TX @ Mohawk *
Sat. Feb. 15 - Dallas, TX @ Deep Ellum Art Co. *
Tue. Feb. 18 - Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom *
Thu. Feb. 20 - Los Angeles, CA @ Fonda Theater *
Fri. Feb. 21 - San Francisco, CA @ August Hall *
Sat. Feb. 22 - Sacramento, CA @ Harlow’s *
Mon. Feb. 24 - Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall *
Tue. Feb. 25 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos *
Wed. Feb. 26 - Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom *
Fri. Feb. 28 - Calgary, AB @ Bella Concert Hall *
Sat. Feb. 29 - Edmonton, AB @ The Starlite Room *
Mon. March 2 - Saskatoon, SK @ Broadway Theatre *
Tue. March 3 - Regina, SK @ The Exchange *
Wed. March 4 - Winnipeg, MB @ Park Theatre *
Thu. March 5 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Hall *
Fri. March 6 - Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo *
Sat. March 7 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *
Fri. March 13 - Lyon, FR @ Epicerie Moderne
Sat. March 14 - Bordeaux, FR @ Krakatoa
Tue. March 17 - Birmingham, UK @ Hare and Hounds
Wed. March 18 - Glasgow, UK @ Mono
Thu. March 19 - Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Fri. March 20 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sat. March 21 - Bristol, UK @ Fiddlers
Sun. March 22 - Brighton, UK @ Chalk
Wed. March 25 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique Orangerie
Thu. March 26 - Utrecht, NL @ TivoliVredenburg
Fri. March 27 - Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown
Sat. March 28 - Nijmegen, NL @ Doornroosje
Mon. March 30 - Hamburg, DE @ Elbphilharmonie
Tue. March 31 - Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen
Wed. April 1 - Stockholm, SE @ Nalen Klubb
Thu. April 2 - Oslo, NO @ Ingensteds
Sat. April 4 - Berlin, DE @ Silent Green
Sun. April 5 - Cologne, DE @ Luxor
Mon. April 6 - Rouen, FR @ Le 106
Tue. April 7 - Paris, FR @ Trianon
Wed. April 8 - London, UK @ Shepherds Bush Empire
Fri. April 24 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall ^
Sat. April 25 - Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre ^
Sun. April 26 - Sheffield, MA @ Race Brook Lodge ^
Tue. April 28 - Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club ^
Thu. April 30 - Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw ^
Fri. May 1 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer ^
Sat. May 2 - Washington, DC @ Black Cat ^
Mon. May 4 - Charlottesville, NC @ The Southern ^
Tue. May 5 - Carrboro, BC @ Cat’s Cradle ^
Wed. May 6 - Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle ^
Fri. May 8 - Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West ^
Sat. May 9 - New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks ^
Sun. May 10 - Birmingham, AL @ Saturn ^
Tue. May 12 - Indianapolis, IN @ Hi-Fi ^
Wed. May 13 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Andy Warhol Museum ^
Fri. May 15 - Asbury Park, NJ @ House of Independents ^
Sat. May 16 - Woodstock, NY @ Colony Cafe ^

*= w/ Molly Sarlé
^ = w/ Faye Webster

Andy Shauf's artist page

Browse by Artist

1690All Artists 59Mavis Staples 56Dr. Dog 54The Milk Carton Kids 51Sean Rowe 50Tinariwen 49Neko Case 43Lost In The Trees
41Son Little 36Saintseneca 33Michael Franti and Spe... 33Galactic 32Glen Hansard 31Jolie Holland 28William Elliott Whitmo... 28Doe Paoro 27Man Man 25Bettye LaVette 23Jason Lytle 22Tom Waits 22Booker T. Jones 22Sage Francis 21Islands 21Xenia Rubinos 21Christopher Paul Stell... 20Daniel Lanois 20Calexico 20DeVotchKa 20Andy Shauf 19Prism Tats 18Joe Henry 18Wilco 18So Much Light 18Delicate Steve 17Tim Fite 17Grinderman 17The Drums 16Porter Wagoner 16Peter Silberman 15Yann Tiersen 15Jade Jackson 15Girlpool 14John K. Samson 14The Antlers 14The Dream Syndicate 13The Coup 13Busdriver 13Rain Machine 12The Melodic 12Cass McCombs 11Kelly Hogan 11Beth Orton 11Keaton Henson 11Japandroids 11Richard Reed Parry 10Roky Erickson 10Os Mutantes 10Xavier Rudd 10Bob Mould 10Dead Man's Bones 10Beat Connection 10Deafheaven 10Ryan Pollie 10Ben Harper and Charlie... 9The Locust 9Mose Allison 9Marketa Irglova 9Kate Bush 9Cameron Avery 8The Frames 8A Girl Called Eddy 8Greg Graffin 8Yves Jarvis 8Darrin Bradbury 7Solillaquists of Sound 7The Field 7Alec Ounsworth 7Foxwarren 6Ramblin Jack Elliott 6Broken Twin 6Kronos Quartet with Br... 6N.A.S.A. 6Pops Staples 6Combo Chimbita 6Rafiq Bhatia 6Jeremy Ivey 6Boy Scouts 6Purr 5The Weakerthans 5Tweedy 5Elliott Smith 5Cadence Weapon 5The Swell Season 5Walter Wolfman Washing... 5Mothers 5Marc Ribot 5The Good Ones 4Eddie Izzard 4Antibalas 4One Day As A Lion 4Muggs 4Petra Haden 4Curtis Harding 4Arc Iris 4Lido Pimienta 4case/lang/veirs 3Danny Cohen 3Marianne Faithfull 3Sierra Leones Refugee... 3The Book Of Knots 3Simian Mobile Disco 2Chuck E. Weiss 2Blackalicious 2Savath & Savalas 2Spoon (Europe only) 2Billy Bragg 2Lyrics Born 2Various Artists: RANGO 2Screaming Lights (Euro... 2Title Fight 2Wynonna 2Jeff Tweedy 2Glitterer 1Nick Cave & The Bad Se... 1Various Artists: ROGUE... 1Rogue's Gallery 1Ben Harper
See Full List+